Fiction This

A work of art works because it is true, not because it is real.

If I Were The Sky

Leave a comment

If I were the sky

I’d always be high

But the world would drown in rain

And every day it’d begin again

If I were the ocean I couldn’t drown

The sinking feeling wouldn’t stay around

 

If I were a mountain I could stand tall

At the edge of it all

I wouldn’t fall

 

If I were a tree I’d be happy just to be

My roots would drink from the ground

And I’d have all the wisdom the forest has found

 

If I were silence I wouldn’t need to speak

I wouldn’t have to explain why this runs so deep

Why each time I am back on my feet

The rug is pulled out from underneath me

 

If I were the sky, there’d be no constant question

No strangled suggestion

Why why why

 

If I were the ocean I could be calm one minute and hell the next

And no one would even need to guess

They’d accept

the madness like it was meant to be

I’d hug the shore if I were the sea

 

Human,

I watch the ocean, the sky, the tree

Wishing

Wishing

Wishing

I wasn’t me

Because it’s harder than the mountain’s side

And more dangerous than the tide

my head is buried  in the ground so I can hide

Dirt covers my eyes

And is encrusted in my fingernails

All I can see is the ways in which I fail

 

My tears are salt streams drying on my face

And my heart is a well that’s been overflowing for days

I am a part of the place

that I live in

I am human, scars on my skin

All I want is to be home

And to be safe

To rid myself of these heavy days

The struggle locks me up in chains

 

The more I try to get free

The more I am tangled in my own dark memory

All I want is to be home

To find the key

That opens the door to peace

Wish it was that easy

 

In my dreams I am a warrior

Fierce

I take the torment in my stride

And my sword glows with  pride

When I sleep I can cry

Without having to lie

And d say “it’s nothing, I’m fine.”

I can get high

Without coming down

But awake I am lost

And  I don’t know where to look

To be found

Am I meant to do all the searching for healing

Myself?

I need help

But no one knows how

Oh how I wish I were a cloud

Or somebody else

Someone who doesn’t have a voice in her brain

insisting she’s insane

Someone with no knowledge of pain

That’s what I feel today

Like I want to fly away

 

 

Leave a comment